According to the Arizona Medical Marijuana Act, anyone that plans to use marijuana for medical treatment must register through the state health department and obtain a registry identification card. Without the ID card, the patient may be subject to prosecution and penalty for using marijuana illegally.
Under the Arizona Medical Marijuana Act, marijuana is still not allowed in any public setting, including the workplace, or in the course of operating any type of equipment, including a motor vehicle. Medical assistance programs or private health insurance is not required to reimburse the patient for costs associated with the use of medical marijuana.
Will there be people growing medical marijuana in my neighborhood?
Depending on where you live, under the new Medical Marijuana Law it is possible that medical marijuana may be grown in specific situations. If the patient lives more than 25 miles from the nearest sanctioned dispensary, that patient or their designated caregiver may grow marijuana for personal use in an enclosed area. An authorized dispensary that is in compliance with local zoning restrictions, may cultivate medical marijuana, also in an enclosed, non-public area.
How much will it cost to apply for a registry identification card
- $150 for an initial or a renewal registry identification card for a qualifying patient. (Some qualifying patients may be eligible to pay $75 for initial and renewal cards if they currently participate in the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program)
- $200 for an initial or a renewal registry identification card for a designated caregiver
- $10 to amend, change, or replace a registry identification card
How much will it cost to apply for or a dispensary registration certificate?
- $500 for an initial or a renewal registry identification card for a dispensary agent
- $5,000 for an initial dispensary registration certificate
- $1,000 for a renewal dispensary registration certificate
- $2,500 to change the location of a dispensary or cultivation facility